A big box of joy…

…arrived from Fabric Mart today! 🙂

From left to right, back to front:

Silk/Cotton suiting, cream and metallic silver.  There is MUCH more silver in this fabric than I expected!  I had planned to use this for the jacket from Vogue 1132, but I’ll have to think on that a bit….

Marc Jacobs wool blend plaid, which doesn’t appear to be available on the site anymore.  I think I paid $3.99/yd for this.  It was such a good deal, I bought 6 yards.  I would like to make the Burda Tonia Shorts out of this.  The rest will probably be used for a jacket.

Marc Jacobs novelty embroidered cotton with stars.  This one is so fun, and doesn’t appear to be available any more.  The weave between the stars is somewhat loose and the fabric is very light.  It will probably end up as a summer dress.  Here’s a closeup:

Linen blend jersey knit in chili pepper

Linen blend jersey knit in aquamarine.

“Brushstrokes” ITY knit from Julie’s Picks.  I’ll make another McCall’s 5974 with this.

White ribbed knit for turtlenecks/tees for layering.

Purple/Gray/White striped silk shantung that is no longer available.  I have no idea what I’ll make with this, but it is BEAUTIFUL.  The stripes run selvage to selvage.  I’d like to try to avoid horizontal stripes, although maybe the broader stripes won’t be so bad.  I have about 2 yards.  Any suggestions?

Black Ponte knit from Julie’s Picks, which I’m hoping to make some pants from.

Not pictured is this lovely silk/cotton toile. I don’t know what this will be yet, but it is very lovely!

I also received a free 6 yard fabric bundle with my order.  I received 2 yards of a red knit, 1 5/8 yards of a black woven, and another 2.5 yards of the cream/silver silk/cotton suiting, so I guess I can make a skirt to go with my jacket!

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tia Dia
    Oct 31, 2012 @ 09:24:29

    Packages of joy like this are the BEST!

    Reply

  2. Kathy
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 16:20:09

    I LOVE Fabric Mart, too! Have you ever gotten the 10 yard mystery bundles? They are awesome. I’ve gotten some super fancy, expensive fabrics for basically a buck yard.. and they help inspire me with all the randomness.

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 17:00:30

      Yes, I LOVE the mystery bundles! I haven’t purchased one in a while, but I always take advantage when they have a free bundle offer. I have a lovely piece of lavender linen I got in a mystery bundle waiting to be sewn up in to a jacket as we speak 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

