Introducing….. Anise!

Anise is done!

I have to admit, this project was a challenge for me.  I had to add in a bust dart to a pattern that didn’t originally have one in order to accomodate an FBA.   I’ve never sewn a lined jacket before, and had never even attempted welt pockets or bound buttonholes.  The pattern was rated for intermediate, which intimidated me as I’m very much a beginner.  But I loved this pattern and was determined to push myself, and I think I did fairly well.

Welt pocket detail

I made more than a few mistakes with this project.  For starters, I chose a fabric that is heavier than recommended, which  added to my frustration level during construction.  My machine really had a difficult time with the fabric when contructing the finer details like the buttonholes and pockets.  But in the end, I really like the end result in the heavier wool.  I think it adds to the vintage feel of the coat, particularly when coupled with the faux Persian Lamb collar.

Collar detail

My type A personality really took hold with this project.  I am not a huge fan of hand sewing, and this pattern required a lot of it.  I got frustrated and sloppy with the lining hem, and had to unpick and redo the whole thing.  I had to remove and reattach three buttons to get them perfect aligned.  I had to unpick and reattach one of the sleeves to get it lined up with the other, and I still don’t think they’re perfect.  I spent so much time working on this jacket, and I found that as I neared the end of construction I was looking on my work with such a critical eye that all I could see were its flaws.  I had to walk away from the jacket for a few days, so that I could come back and look on it with fresh eyes to really appreciate what I’d accomplished.  This is something I really need to work on – I absolutely do not want my OCD perfectionism to interfere with my ability to enjoy sewing.  I think I’ll take the next week or so to whip up a few quick, easy projects to help me regain my sewing mojo.

Despite my frustrations, I really do love both the pattern and the jacket, and would definitely recommend it to others.  This was my first experience with Colette patterns, and I was very impressed with both the pattern and the instructions.  They were very clear and well written, and I really appreciate the step by step illustrations.  Having access to Sarai, the sew-alongs, and helpful tips in the Colette forums is also a HUGE bonus.  I am definitely a fan, and plan on picking up several more of the Colette patterns in the near future.

I think the jacket is a perfect compliment to my mini-tophat, don’t you?

(I really need a new camera – this one does not capture colors well at all!)

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 20:43:25

    I love the color!

    Reply

  2. Carola
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 07:42:18

    Well done, and congratulations on not throwing it in a corner (like I almost felt like doing with my couture dress). All that hand stitching and unpicking you mentioned sounds just like me but in the end it’s worth it, isn’t it? LOL It feels so good to wear something you put so much effort into, don’t you think? 🙂

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Oct 28, 2012 @ 10:51:15

      I definitely wanted to throw it in a corner on more than one occasion!! But I’m glad I stuck with it. It does feel good to wear something I worked so hard on – but I’m very ready to work on something a little simpler for a while!

      Reply

  3. Tia Dia
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 13:38:12

    Congratulations on your first lined jacket! I remember making my first one without any adjustments (because I didn’t know ANYTHING about proper fit back then) and being absolutely thrilled with it. I love your faux fur collar, too. Great jacket!

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 19:36:36

      Working on the fit with this jacket has definitely given me the confidence to try some more advanced patterns. I have a few blazer patterns in my stash that I’m planning on trying out soon, as well as some slacks. Wish me luck!

      Reply

  4. goodbyevalentino
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 14:37:49

    Beautiful jacket and great accomplishment, Robin! The welt pockets look absolutely perfect 🙂 I’d say you most certainly deserve to work on some easy patterns now – have fun!

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Nov 02, 2012 @ 19:37:34

      Thank you so much! You know, I sewed and resewed those welts because I had myself convinced that they weren’t sitting “right”. Now they look fine to me! Our minds can play tricks on us when we’ve been so close to something for so long, I guess.

      Reply

  5. MontanaDesigns
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 19:14:06

    Absolutely fabulous! I like the colour, shape… everything.

    Reply

  6. Teri
    Oct 30, 2012 @ 13:44:39

    What a lovely jacket! Good job and I hope you smile every time you wear it, because it looks great on you!

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Oct 30, 2012 @ 13:47:31

      Thanks, Teri! I’m pretty happy with it 🙂 I haven’t had much of a chance to wear it as our weather here in has been pretty warm lately, but I’m looking forward to bundling up in it on the chilly upcoming winter mornings!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

