BurdaStyle 2/2013

I just received my February 2013 Issue of BurdaStyle in the mail, and there are so many patterns in this issue I can’t wait to make!! And, even better, most of them are rated easy! Hooray! Here’s a quick look at the patterns I’m loving (all images from the Feb. issue, copyright Burda):

I really love the contrasting neck and sleeve bands on this blouse. Perfect for the office!

20130118-122913.jpg

This top is made with pre-pleated fabric, and inspires me to try out some of those funky fabrics I see but never know what to do with.

20130118-123117.jpg

I really like this easy rated knit dress, but I’m not sure the flounce would work on my body type:

20130118-123307.jpg

I LOVE this top, and bonus – there’s also a longer, dress length version with short sleeves:

20130118-123432.jpg

This simple halter style dress will be perfect for a vacation in Mexico we’re planning later this year:

20130118-123545.jpg

I love the gathered effect on this mock wrap skirt (I think this is a candidate for the Giorgio Armani wool I received in a recent mystery bundle):

20130118-123740.jpg

There are a few other patterns as well – a knit top in short and long sleeve lengths, a couple more dresses that will be perfect for vacation. This issue is going to keep me busy for a good long while!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 14:42:26

    I just was browsing through my issue a minute ago I just got in the mail… there are lots of nice easy patterns I’m liking, too. I was thinking the same thing about the dress with the flounce!!

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Jan 18, 2013 @ 16:02:20

      Yes, there are several in this issue that I think are potential TNT’s for me. The knit top with the gathering/shirring at the sleeve seam is on my list as well, and I’ll definitely be making multiples in different sleeve lengths.

      Reply

  2. CherryPix
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 14:51:05

    Ooh…will be stalking the post box for my copy…like all your picks!

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Jan 18, 2013 @ 16:00:58

      You won’t be disappointed with this issue! There are tons of fantastic patterns in it. There’s one Masterpiece dress that I am absolutely in love with – but I don’t think I’m quite ready to try my hand at it. Maybe after I have a little more experience with Burda!

      Reply

  3. Judith
    Jan 18, 2013 @ 18:14:55

    I really should subscribe to this magazine! Every now and again I pick one up from our local library and flick through it. Guess it’s down to having the patience to trace out those patterns, following all those lines round and round…

    Reply

  4. Carola
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 11:37:58

    You have great taste in patterns and i can’t wait to see a few of your finished creations. Oh, and did you see Sewalong’s latest blog about photocopying smaller pattern pieces to save you having to trace them all? I thought that was a great timesaving tip!! :-)

    Reply

  5. twotoast
    Jan 19, 2013 @ 18:32:50

    Oooh! There are some lovely pattern there. I really must sign up for a subscription, it is so hard to purchase these magazines in Canada. I particularly like the cream/black top with black ties – I am having a Sorbetto frenzy right now and I can see it working well in that format.

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Jan 21, 2013 @ 19:17:15

      I waffled for a long time about subscribing, until my mom purchases one for me as a gift. I’ll definitely be renewing it – totally worth it! I think the contrast sleeves and ties would look great on a Sorbetto!

      Reply

  6. Sandra
    Feb 09, 2013 @ 04:51:21

    I’ve got the December issue that have a few patterns that are on my to do list, but I am really liking some of the patterns you’ve captured here. When I trace I use my carbon paper and tracing wheel which is a lot quicker than trying to use a pen and trying to find the line through the trace paper. Can’t wait to see your new garments.

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Feb 09, 2013 @ 07:55:11

      Thanks for the tips! I’ve also read about a tool people use to add the seam allowance when they’re cutting the fabric, rather than having to add it to the pattern pieces. I’d love to find something like that!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

