Instant pencil skirt gratification

20130109-185224.jpg

I’ve been busy tracing off a pattern for my first attempt at making something from the BurdaStyle magazine. The process is sort of slow-going and tedious, and I found myself starting to avoid the sewing room lately, dreading trying to find the correct pattern lines, trace them, and add in seam allowance. Dreading the sewing room is not a good sign, and I knew I needed something quick and easy to get back in sewing gear. Some of the ladies in the RTW Fasters group had recently mentioned being in a sewing slump, and Sarah suggested sewing up a quick pencil skirt to break through the slump and move forward.

I thought that was a great idea, and had the perfect 1 yard piece of tiger print knit for a skirt, but no pattern. A quick search of the web located this tutorial for making a knit pencil skirt using an existing skirt as a guide, and I was off to the machine to see what I could do!

 

20130109-185743.jpg20130109-185800.jpg

 

Sorry for the dark photos – my camera is lost at the moment, so iPhone it is!

I really love this skirt! Quick, easy, and based off something you already own so you know it will fit great! I plan to make up at least two or three more in basic solids to help round out my wardrobe. I would definitely recommend trying this out! Great for that instant gratification we sometimes need!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carola
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 19:36:12

    It makes me smile that you got up and did it (made a pencil skirt!)! Well done, Robin… I’m about to do the same.

    Reply

  2. twotoast
    Jan 09, 2013 @ 20:01:34

    Cute fabric and skirt! Just what is needed :)

    Reply

  3. Judith
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 16:14:24

    Great pencil skirt – you will get a heap of wear out of this! Good luck with all that pattern tracing – sends me crazy…J

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Jan 10, 2013 @ 16:16:45

      Thanks, Judith! I have one pattern piece that is traced but needs seam allowances added, and one more left to trace. It’s taking forever – mostly because it drives me crazy, and I’ve been avoiding it! Glad to know I’m not the only one!

      Reply

  4. goodbyevalentinog
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 02:56:53

    Very nice, Robin! A beautiful freebie always gets me out of a sewing slump!! :)

    Reply

  5. Tia Dia
    Jan 13, 2013 @ 12:12:49

    Lovely skirt! And glad to hear you’re out of the doldrums!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

