A Very Burdastyle Christmas!

I mentioned to my mom a while back that I’d really like a subscription to Burdastyle, and she surprised me with one for Christmas! I received a copy of the December 2012 issue with a card notifying me of the subscription earlier this month, and just received the January 2013 issue earlier this week. Thumbing through the January issue, I immediately fell in love with this leather vest:

Burdastyle Jan 2013 Leather Vest

I love everything about this vest – the length, the zippers, the collar, the point in the front. It has a great shape and will work with my curves very nicely! Figuring it would be a good project for when I had advanced a bit in my skills, I penned it in to my sewing calendar for some time next year.

I received an email notification from FabricMart today advertising these gorgeous purple and metallic leather hides as Sue’s Daily Pick for only $17/hide. How could I resist grabbing some up for that lovely vest?? As an added bonus, they’re currently offering free shipping! Woohooo! I took the great deal on this leather as a sign – I need to jump right in and make this baby now! The only problem is, I’ve never worked with leather, and I’ve never worked with a Burdastyle magazine pattern either. Eep! Ah well, what’s life without some adventure, right?

I should receive the leather next week, and with the kids off to their dad’s for the holidays I’m planning on using my four day weekend over New Year’s to start working on this vest. I am a little intimidated by that leather, but I’m also excited to start my new year off with a new challenge! Does anyone else have plans to challenge themselves with something new in the new year?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:45:20

    Nice vest! Hope it all works out for you – keep us posted :)
    As for me – my challenge for the new year is to learn how to fit myself properly. I can’t wait for 5pm today because the rest of the week is mine to sew as I please :) yay!

    Reply

  2. Redd's Threads
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:51:06

    Thanks, Jenny! Ooooh, don’t you just love that feeling of knowing you have oodles of time to sew? I love not feeling rushed or like I have to cram some sewing in to a 15 or 20 minute period, and feel like my results are always so much better!

    Reply

  3. Carola
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 15:07:24

    Oh wow! Love the pattern and the colour of the hide. Can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Dec 21, 2012 @ 15:11:24

      Thanks! The funny thing is, I saw those same hides earlier this year and REALLY wanted to order some, but I decided not to because I didn’t have a project in mind. So, this really seemed like it was mean to be :) I only hope that I ordered enough!

      Reply

  4. Laura
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 16:11:36

    That’s a great looking vest! I am excited to see yours. I am trying to work on jeans and a dress. I’ve never made jeans before, and it has been 20 years since I’ve made a dress out of anything that wasn’t a knit. I guess that means I am doing some new things in 2013.

    Reply

  5. twotoast
    Dec 21, 2012 @ 18:43:29

    I’ve not used leather, but have not had any problems with Burda patterns. Just take it slow and remember seam allowances! Good luck – I look forward to seeing your progress!

    Reply

  6. Teri
    Dec 23, 2012 @ 07:44:02

    What fun! Good luck with the leather, I have only sewen on Pleather before. I plan to finish my black silk top and then work on something to wear to my niece’s wedding in January, still undecided on that.

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Dec 26, 2012 @ 14:06:31

      Good luck with the dress for the wedding! I’ve been wanting to make something more “dressy”, and even have the perfect fabric, but nowhere to wear it to. I’m hoping an appropriate event will come along some time in 2013 so that I can make something from it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

