Colette Trunk Show and the Anise Jacket

Colette just released two new patterns, the Anise jacket and the Juniper pants. To celebrate they held a series of trunk shows along the west coast. I was lucky enough to attend a Colette trunk show on Saturday, where Sarai graciously signed my copy of The Colette Sewing Handbook , I had an opportunity to meet other local sewing enthusiasts, and I picked up a few patterns and some really gorgeous fabric. It was wonderful to see everyone there in their darling Colette creations! I haven’t sewn up any of the Colette patterns aside from the Sorbetto. Seeing so many of the designs in person was very inspiring, and I can’t wait to make some up for myself!

Speaking of Colette designs – I’m really in love with the Anise jacket! What a cute, classic little number! I knew I’d be picking this pattern up at the trunk show, so I stopped by one of my favorite local fabric stores, Stonemountain & Daughter, beforehand to see if I might be able to find the right fabric. Lucky me, I found a really gorgeous soft wool in a dark burgundy shade in the clearance section for 50% off. Perfect! I can’t wait to get started on this. I’m excited to try some new techniques, such as the welt pockets. While I was going through my stash last night trying to find an appropriate lining, I ran across a beautiful piece of very soft black leather that I’d forgotten about. I don’t have much of it, but there’s definitely enough to use for the welt pockets and some bound buttonholes on the jacket. I’d really like to use the leather for these details, but I’m not sure I’ll be brave enough – especially since this will be my first time trying these techniques at all!

I’m a little nervous about fitting the jacket, as I know I’ll need to do an FBA and the pattern does not have bust darts. I was hoping to avoid adding darts in since I really like the lines of the pattern as-is, but I don’t think that’s going to be an option. I’ve ordered some tracing paper and am going to make a couple muslins, one based on high bust and one based on bust, to see which gives me the correct fit. I’m planning on participating in the Anise Sew-Along on the Colette forums, which started this week. I’ll post my progress here. Stay tuned!

Anise Jacket Sewalong

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. evilincarKnit
    Sep 28, 2012 @ 09:57:59

    Were you wearing your Sorbetto at the trunk show? I think I saw you there. Wasn’t that a great night?! I’m such the Sarai fangirl now.

    Reply

  2. symondezyn
    Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:36:43

    Hi! I’m about to start Anise too, and was wondering the same thing about the FBA. I’ll be interested to see how you go with this :)

    Reply

    • Redd's Threads
      Oct 03, 2012 @ 16:41:18

      Be sure to check out the sew along posts on the Colette blog, too! Sarai just posted about doing an FBA on the Anise jacket the other day. She suggests options for both adding a bust dart, and adding an FBA without a dart, which lengthens the jacket. Good luck with yours, I’d love to see your finished version!

      Reply

      • symondezyn
        Oct 03, 2012 @ 18:46:20

        Haha! I totally just found that FBA post after i posted here! ^__^ I’m gonna do the standard FBA, adding a side bust dart. I joined the Flickr group – hope you do too! Can’t wait to see yours as well! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

